ACPA Quarter 4 2018

CONCRETE PAVEMENT P ROGRESS ACPA STAFF Gerald Voigt, PE President & CEO Elke Allen Accounting & Finance Ann Shlimon Finance Assistant Debbie Becker Office Administration Eric Ferrebee, PE Technical Services Andy Gieraltowski Operations & IT Bill Davenport Communications Gary Mitchell, PE Airport Pavement Technology Larry Scofield, PE Pavement Innovation (shared w/IGGA) Leif Wathne, PE Executive Vice President CONTRIBUTING EDITOR Sheryl S. Jackson 2018 BOARD OF DIRECTORS Chuck Niederriter, 2018 Chairperson Golden Triangle Construction Co., Inc. James Mack, PE, 1st Vice Chair CEMEX Greg McCormick, 2nd Vice Chair Northern Improvement Co. David Howard, 3rd Vice Chair/Treasurer Koss Construction Company Lori Tiefenthaler, Immediate Past Chair Lehigh Hanson, Inc. Gerald Voigt, PE, President/CEO American Concrete Pavement Association Andy Gieraltowski, Secretary American Concrete Pavement Association Steve Ambrose GCC America Mark Brown, PE Zachry Construction Corp. Mike Byers Indiana Chapter – ACPA Stephen Friess Milestone Contractors, LP Mike Gordon Continental Cement Company, LLC Ed Griffith St. Marys Cement Company Martin Holt Interstate Highway Construction, Inc. (IHC) John Jacob RexCon, Inc. Mike Lipps Duit Construction Co., Inc. Brian Manatt Manatt’s, Inc. Ernest Peterson Ash Grove Cement Company James Powell, PE Northwest Chapter – ACPA John Roberts IGGA/ACPA Pavement Preservation Partnership Dan Rozycki The Transtec Group, Inc. Maik Strecker LafargeHolcim Leif Wathne American Concrete Pavement Association Concrete Pavement Progress is the official magazine of the American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA). ACPA is the national trade association for the concrete pavement industry. The primary mission of the ACPA is to lead the promotion of concrete paving and align its members, chapters/ state paving association affiliates and partners for effective and valued concrete pavement promotion, advocacy and technical support on behalf of the concrete pavement industry. AMERICAN CONCRETE PAVEMENT ASSOCIATION 9450 BRYN MAWR AVE., STE. 150 ROSEMONT, IL 60018 phone : 847-966-2272 fax : 847-966-9970 WWW.ACPA.ORG Copyright © 2018 by the American Concrete Pavement Association, Rosemont, Illinois. The contents of this publication may not be reproduced or distributed electronically or mechanically, either in whole or in part, without the express written consent of the American Concrete Pavement Association. ADVERTISING & DESIGN LLM Publications 503-445-2220 800-647-1511 President Stephen Bloss Design & Layout Spencer Seastrom Sales Representative David Gambill Quarter 4 | 2018 T A B L E O F 04 An Excellent Time of Year By Bill Davenport 06 2018 “Excellence in Concrete Pavements” Awards By Sheryl S. Jackson and Bill Davenport 27 Differing Site Conditions: A Roadmap For Additional Compensation and Time By Thomas R. Olson, Esq. and Rielly J. Lund, Esq.